Ooohh the Irony

Side note: I’m starting off by saying I know this seems a little harsh and immature of me, but I feel like it’s somewhat deserved. So here I go:

I have always been one of those outcasts, never popular, where most of my friends throughout high school consisted of boys who either played too much video games or smoked too much pot. Being on the rowing team never helped with my social status either, a team filled with social outcasts and nerds so to to speak. In ways you can say I never tried to be more out there and open to others conventions of popularity, but that was because I took one look at those “it” girls and rather being envious of their skinny bodies, long perfect hair and precise makeup, I laughed at it. My face was bare and my hair was usually a shaggy mop of brown, golden frizzy waves. I had braces on and off due to my father’s constant battle with my pip squeak, little nuggets of teeth (he’s a dentist) and I suffered from the normal struggles of acne as a teen (as most of you probably have). But rather being focused on my looks and having more friends, I focused on forming bonds with people through their personalities rather than their beauties (along with the constant shit disturbing tendencies I caused around the school and my neighbourhood– but that was all fun and games).

So as their beauty fades and their bodies grow increasingly large, I’m still the one laughing. Instead of focusing on the materiality of the world as a teen (as they did) I decided to pursue the insight and inner beauty of others. Just because they do not have that perfect facial feature, I don’t toss them on the curb and refuse to try to speak with them, I become more inclined to want to create a friendship. I’m not saying I only make friends with ugly people, because if you take one look at my friends you would know how untrue that is (as they are some of the most stunning individuals I have ever encountered). All I’m saying is I take time to get to know someone for their inner self rather than just their outer self. Because what lies on the outside is not the only thing that matters, it’s what lies on the inside that counts. SO before judging a book by its cover, realize that that ugly duckling may grow into a beautiful swan.

I write this because as I was sitting on the bus ride home two of my former high school classmates came sauntering on the bus. And let me tell you, the past four years have not been well for them. They have gained at least 20 pounds and have stopped putting effort into their appearance as they once did. These girls judged and dismissed others who did not meet their social standards and now they have become those girls they use to judge. Irony at its finest. 

 

Leave a comment